A trend that has been bothering me lately

So in the lovely age of social media and apps for everything I have found apps to help people with depression and anxiety. I have found support in these apps and I think they can be a useful tool for people who are struggling to know that they aren’t alone.

I’ll admit I have used these apps for peer support to help with my anxiety but I have been observing something that is disturbing to me.

The thing is people self diagnosing themselves with mental disorders. Not only do people do this but they wear their supposed mental disorders like a baj of honor. They want the world to know that ehey have something wrong with them and for that reason they need to be treated differently because after all they’re a victim.

This trend is frusterating for those of us who actually have diagnosed problems because these people make us look like attention seeking freaks!

I understand wanting to fit in but trust me there is nothing great and wonderful about having a mental disorder. It sucks, it’s not fun and I wouldn’t wish something like anxiety on my worst enemy!

So people, Stop pretending to be something that you’re not. We see you and we can spot you from a mile away.

One Reply to “A trend that has been bothering me lately”

  1. Scepticism fosters stigmatism.
    There will always be attention seekers, but what is more important is that we support anyone who takes the courage to ask for help – whether their 10 on the ‘scale of distress’ is only your 4.
    Take care.

Leave a Reply

